Australian Capital Territory

The capital city of Australia, Canberra, is located within the Australian Capital Territory (ACT).  The ACT covers an area of approximately 2,400 square kilometres.  Its population of 350,000 is mostly located within the city of Canberra although there are a few smaller towns in the ACT.  Canberra was a planned city designed in 1913 as the capital of Australia after the Australian States formed a federation in 1901.

There are some excellent museums in Canberra, such as the National Gallery of Australia and the National Museum of Australia.  One of Australia’s top universities, Australia National University, is here and it is placed highly in world rankings.

Canberra has one of the lowest unemployment rates in Australia (currently just 3%) and the highest average salary for workers.  Although the main employer is the Federal government there are also private companies, especially in the information technology area.  Commuting times are very short: 20 minutes for most people to get to work, as it’s a small city.

The air is clean and fresh and there is easy access to some wonderful national parks nearby.  The Snowy Mountains are not far away and you can ski there in winter or go kayaking or hiking in summer.

To find out more about Canberra and the ACT go to: